Wk 12 – Classmate Interview – Magdalena Acevedo

I kind of was late to getting an interview from a classmate since I chose to go around the galleries first, but luckily someone agreed to letting me interview them even though they already had one done with someone else. I met Magdalena while she was just on her phone doing her own thing.

She told me that she was from Moreno Valley and due to that she dorms at beach side currently. She is a first year like most people who dorm. She is undeclared but hopes to go into somewhere math related. I was pretty shocked about that since I don’t meet many people who “like” math. I might even think that this is the first person that I met that wants to major in math. We talked about Long Beach and got to the point where we were saying some parts are ghetto. She actually likes it here more and doesn’t think it’s ghetto as much people say because she has been to more worse places.

I asked if she plays any sports and she does. Water Polo. She actually plays for the school! I think that is very cool that she played in high school for one year and now is playing at the water polo club. That takes some pretty good skill… She is the oldest out of five children in the family and even the first to go to college. I’m the first to go to college here in the states. We had a similar topic to talk about which was her native food, tacos. I love their different meats and what not and we conversed about that for a while as well.

Nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

