Wk 13 – Artist Interview – Shihori Nakayama

I chose to go to this gallery because the work I saw was so finely detailed. You really had to look up close to the drawing to see every little part of the picture. I was amazed by the smallest lines and fixtures in the drawing. After I took a while I went to get an interview. She said that she went to Cal State North Ridge before and her inspiration of her work is manga. I’ve always been interested in anime but never really dove into it or watched it. When asked how she made her drawings, she replied saying it was ink and pen drawings. I was just so shocked because of the small details. I was thinking that It would have took the longest time to even do a part of the drawing. She said she each one she did depends on the time because she will work on it when she is bored and has nothing else to do. She makes small pieces and puts them together into one huge piece.

When you look at her work you can see that it has animals in it like a cat for example. When asked why she said that she loves animals and are easier to draw than humans so she puts them in her works. She wants to make a portfolio and has started all this work since last semester. She does not plan ahead and free styles her work which is again a mind boggling thing for me. I just cant see myself with that kind of talent ever. She just draws by her memory and pictures that she sees. Some pieces were about herself seeing a cat int he street which amazed her because she does not see that from her area. Another work was her classmate that she incorporated into her drawing.

I think her work is very amazing and to fully appreciate it you have to take your time and look closely at it. Again it is a talent you do not see very much often and I think she can go far places.

Leave a Reply

